DateRHome vs Away-
03/24 01:00 122 Canisius vs Minnesota View
03/24 18:00 122 Ohio State vs Harvard View
03/24 21:00 122 Michigan Tech vs Penn State View
03/24 21:30 122 Merrimack vs Quinnipiac View
03/25 00:30 122 Michigan vs Colgate Raiders View
03/25 00:30 - Colgate vs Michigan View


Date R Home vs Away -
03/23 21:30 122 Cornell vs Denver View
03/23 21:00 122 Minnesota State vs St. Cloud State 0-4
03/23 18:00 122 Western Michigan vs Boston University 1-5
03/19 00:30 1 St Cloud State vs Colorado College 3-0
03/19 00:00 1 Michigan vs Minnesota 4-3
03/18 23:30 1 Harvard vs Colgate Raiders 2-3
03/18 23:07 1 Minnesota State vs Northern Michigan Wildcats 3-2
03/18 23:00 1 Boston University vs Merrimack 3-2
03/18 22:00 1 Holy Cross vs Canisius 0-3
03/18 00:30 2 North Dakota vs St. Cloud State 2-3
03/17 23:32 2 Harvard vs Cornell 1-0
03/17 23:30 2 Merrimack vs UMass Lowell 2-1

The annual NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Tournament is a college ice hockey tournament held in the United States by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) to determine the top men's team in Division I. Like other Division I championships, it is the highest level of NCAA men's hockey competition. This tournament is somewhat unique among NCAA sports as many schools which otherwise compete in Division II or Division III compete in Division I for hockey.

Since 1999, the semi-finals and championship game of the tournament have been branded as the "Frozen Four"—a reference to the NCAA's long-time branding of its basketball semi-finals as the "Final Four".


The NCAA Men's Division I Ice Hockey Championship is a single elimination competition that has determined the collegiate national champion since the inaugural 1948 NCAA Men's Division I Ice Hockey Tournament. The tournament features 16 teams representing all six Division I conferences in the nation. The Championship Committee seeds the entire field from 1 to 16 within four regionals of 4 teams. The winners of the six Division I conference championships receive automatic bids to participate in the NCAA Championship. The tournament begins with initial games played at four regional sites culminating with the semi-finals and finals played at a single site.

In setting up the tournament, the Championship Committee seeks to ensure "competitive equity, financial success and likelihood of playoff-type atmosphere at each regional site." A team serving as the host of a regional is placed within that regional. The top four teams are assigned overall seeds and placed within the bracket such that the national semifinals will feature the No. 1 seed versus the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed versus the No. 3 seed should the top four teams win their respective regional finals. Number 1 seeds are also placed as close to their home site as possible, with the No. 1 seed receiving first preference. Conference matchups are avoided in the first round; should five or more teams from one conference make the tournament, this guideline may be disregarded in favor of preserving the bracket's integrity.

Broadmoor Ice Palace in Colorado Springs, Colorado hosted the tournament for the first ten years and has hosted eleven times overall, the most of any venue. Michigan and Denver Pioneers had won the most tournaments with nine, while Vic Heyliger has coached the most championship teams, winning six times with Michigan between 1948 and 1956.

The 2020 championship was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tournament format history

4 teams (1 game series)
5–6 teams (1 game series)
8 teams (2 game, total goals first round at higher seed)
12 teams (2 game, total goals first two rounds at higher seed)
12 teams (best of 3 games first two rounds series at higher seed)
12 teams (divided into 2 regionals, East Regional and West Regional; 6 teams each)
16 teams (divided into 4 regionals: Northeast, East, Midwest, and West Regionals: 4 teams each)